Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Hide your Beagles, Vicks an Eagle!

I feel like there's been a huge oversight with this whole Michael Vick to the Eagles situation. Most of the reports I've seen focus on the whole dog fighting crimes, will he be in shape, etc. To me, there is not enough being made about the effect this will have on Donovan McNabb. Think about it. McNabb got pulled last season for Kevin Kolb. There was talk that if Kolb even played half way decent, Andy Reid would have gone with him for the rest of the year. Now McNabb, who just signed an extension this off-season, is going to have Vick looking over his shoulder and it's not a distraction to him? As we have all seen over the last decade, Donovan is prone to some bad stretches and the Eagles don't exactly have the most patient fan base in the world. With Vick most likely to be suspended for a a handful of games, this issue may or may not arise in 2009, but if McNabb puts together a few clunkers later this year or in 2010...hide your dogs Philly.

We're back!

All apologies for being away for so long...life tends to get in the way of your nerdy dream job now and then. Anyway, I'm going to try and see this thing through. There were almost a thousand hits a week on this blog every week and I'm willing to see this things through. Here we go...

10 Worst Head Coaches in the NFL

10. Eric Mangini (Jets): That whole Mangenious thing got old pretty quick didn't it? The Jets surprised everyone with a 10-6 record in Mangini's first season but last year things evened out a bit when the team fell the 4-12. Mangini's boring brand out football made the Jets a tough watch...well until the traded for whats his name. Can Brett Favre save the Jets and Mangini?

9. Gary Kubiak (Texans): This one comes as a shock to me. I really thought Kubiak would get the Texans to the playoffs. He still might. But he is 0-4 right now and he has failed to turn Matt Schaub into the franchise QB they hoped he would be when they gave him all that money. The Texans have gone 6-10 and 8-8 in his first two seasons. With the Hurricane Ike screwing with the team early on, maybe 04 is an aberation. So you still have time to get off the list Gary.

8. Brad Childress (Vikings): Any coach who gives Tavaris Jackson a starting QB job automatically makes this list. The Vikings stole a game in New Orleans to avoid a 1-4 start. If they don't turn it around he could be gone at the end of the season. Great mustache though. Really very 80's.

7. Herm Edwards (Chiefs): You play to win the game! Really coach? Considering the Jets almost packed your bags for you when the Chiefs, for whatever reason, tabbed you to replace Dick Vermeil. He hasn't had much to work with in KC and it shows with a 14-23 record thus far. Still, you reach a 9.9 on the unintentional comedy scale Herm. For that alone I hope you stay around.


6. Romeo Crennel (Browns): I am of the belief that the Browns got lucky in 2007. They are not a 10-6 football team and Crennel is not a very good head coach. Even with 2007 he is 21-31 with Cleveland. Tough part for Cleveland fans is that Phil Savage gave Romeo an extension after his 10-6 mirage. One year does not make a coach.

5. Any Raiders Coach: Your owner is completely insane. Good luck Tom Cable...whoever you are. Since their 2002 Superbowl team, Raiders coaches are a combined 20-64! Maybe that's why Al Davis is nuts!

4. Marvin Lewis (Bengals): From the constant influx of troubled players to underachieving every year, Marvin Lewis has never lived up to the promise many thought he showed as defensive coordinator. Plus, I'm going on record as saying defensive coordinators for the Ravens don't count. Whoever they put in there does well. I have to think it has more to do with Ray Lewis and the boys then it does the coordinator.

3. Jim Haslett (Rams): I understand wanting to fire Scott Linehan who may be the worst head coach this league has seen in a while. But replacing him with Jim Haslett? I know! Lets fire our coach and promote our defensive coordinator whose defense is historically bad. In Jim's defense (no pun intended) he did coach the Saints to solid mediocrity in the early 2000's.

2. Rod Marinelli (Lions): I legitimately feel bad for Lion's fans. How much was Matt Millen's poor decision making and how much has been Marinelli? He's 10-26 as a head coach. He has to take some of the blame. Why have you stayed with Jon Kitna so long?

1. Mike Nolan (49ers): Terrible game planning? Check. Throwing your players under the bus? Check. Terrible clock management? Check. Declining a holding call to set up a 3rd and 1 instead of a 2nd and 11 for the other team? Check (yes that actually happened against TB last season). Mike Nolan is a salesman. He somehow convinced 49er owner John York to hire him as head coach and give him complete control over the team even though he had zero experience in either department. He drafted a QB from a gimmick, spread college offense and made him the center piece of a team that was built (at least attempted to be built)to win with conservative offense and good defense. He then threw that quarterback under the bus when he tried to play with a should injury so bad that it has kept him out for the 2007 and 2008 seasons. This "defensive specialist" has spent millions on free agent defenders only to have a squad that is a mismosh of 3-4 and 4-3 players struggling to find an identity. The team has lacked a pass rush as Nolan refuses to stray from his vanilla schemes. Week after week, he tells the press that the schemes were right but the players didn't execute, refusing to take blame for the utter mess he has created by the bay. The 49ers were 16-32 in is first 3 seasons. He should have been fired last season but 49er fans have been made to suffer 1 more year.

Week 6 picks

Falcons over Bears: I think this will be close game but I'll take the Falcons with the upset. Matt Ryan has been terrific and people are saying that he approaches the game like Peyton Manning. That kind of dedication and preparation is music to ears of Falcons fans who had a little bit of character issue with their last QB. Kyle Orton has been terrific but I get the feeling he's do for a bad game on the road. Could it be this week?

Texans over Dolphins: Look, I understand the Dolphins are running the Wing Nut whatever formation and everyone is thrilled but I think the league will catch up with them. Plus, the Texans are not an 0-5 team. They have lost two absolute heart breakers to the Jags and Colts. Sage Rosenfels should never be allowed to touch a football inside two minutes of anything ever again. Bye the way, is anyone else tired of hearing about how Bill Parcells has turned the Dolphins around. Can we give new head coach Tony Sparano some credit? I mean, he did come up with the Wing Nut right? Or did Pauly Walnuts?





Colts over Ravens: This is everyone's favorite upset pick this week. I'm sorry, I know the Ravens have an outstanding defense but Peyton Manning (bad knee and all) is still the QB for the Colts. They will turn things around.

Vikings over the Lions: Whats the over/under on yardage for Adrian Peterson this weekend? 350? The Lion's may be without Jon Kitna for this game (not necessarily are bad thing) and will start Dan Orlovsky in his place (not necessarily a good thing). Rumors are flying around that this could be Roy Williams last game in Detroit.

Saints over Raiders: Marcus Colston should play a little in this game in 3 and 4 receiver sets. The Saints need a win the worst way. They pretty much blew games against Denver and Minnesota and could be 4-1. Martin Gramatica is probably not a very popular guy in that locker room. The Raiders are a mess but a dangerous mess because of their ability to run the ball. If they have to throw it though...ehh. Godspeed Tom Cable.

Jets over Bengals: I was ready pick the Bengals to get their first win of the season but then I heard Caron Palmer is not playing because of his elbow. Anyone else think the Bengals just want to hit the fast forward button on the season? The Jets start a very favorable start of their schedule and could go on a little bit of run. The AFC east could turn out to be just as competitive as the NFC East.

Panthers over the Bucs: The Bucs could start to free fall if they lose this game. Not because of their schedule or anything like that, I just don't think they are very good. Don't sleep on the Panthers getting a bye and being a legit Super Bowl threat. They way the NFC looks right now, the # 2 seed could get there with a 10-6 record.

Redskins over the Rams: The Redskins play the Rams, Browns and Lions before their schedule gets tough. They can't afford to overlook the Rams with showdowns against the Steelers, Cowboys, and Giants looming. Luckily, the Rams are a mess. I'm interested to see how this team comes out now that Linehan is gone. The players did not like him. Neither did I for some reason...I guess some people just give off that vibe. This game might be a little closer than you would imagine but I don't see a red hot Skins team losing at home.

Jags over the Broncos: Not sure if anyone has noticed but Denver's Offense has hit a little wall the last two weeks. The Jags need to win. 2-4 will have them 4 games out of first in the loss column very early in the season. Plus, they still have the Colt's to deal with.

Cardinals over Cowboys: The Boy's D has been terrible. They almost lost a game to Cincy last week and I have a feeling another loss could throw this team into disarray. Pacman, T.O., Tank Johnson, Wade Phillips? Seems like recipe for disaster to me. If Kurt Warner protects the football, the Cards will win this game...maybe.

Eagles over Niners: The Eagles will be without Brian Westbrook, Reggie Brown and Shawn Andrews. I don't think it will matter. Donovan McNabb has been vocal about how poorly his team is playing and said he wants to throw the ball down field more often. Does anyone else notice McNabb whines a lot? Anyway, they should be able to get big plays on a Niner secondary that made Cassel/Moss look like Culpepper/Moss circa 2003. The Niners can score but I worry about J.T. O'Sullivan against that relentless Philly blitz. He may not make it through the 2nd quarter.

Packers over Seahwaks: Matt Hasselbeck isn't playing this weekend and it looks like Charlie Frye will get the start. I hate to see Mike Holmgren go out like this but if the team does not get healthy they won't win 6 games. If I were Mike Holmgren I'd find a nice home close to the bay area next season and rethink retirement (wink.wink.). The Packers have their own injury issues but still have enough fire power to pull this game out.

Chargers over Patriots: The Chargers hate...let me emphasize that...HATE the Patriots. I am thinking that without Tom terrific they actually have a shot to beat them. One would assume that they will pull out all the stops and try to embarrass the Pats. I'd say they could do it too if they hadn't looked so terrible the past 2 weeks. I still say they win.

Giants over the Browns: Have you looked at the Browns schedule? They may end up with only 3-4 wins this season. The time for Brady Quinn is now. Derek Anderson was a one year wonder if I ever saw one. How did everyone know this but the Browns organization. The only way the Giants lose this game is if they take a week off. Is going into Cleveland for their first Monday night game in a long time dangerous? Absolutely. But the Giants are the most complete team in the league and a competitive division will keep them focused.

Remembering Week 5

Studs

Larry Fitzgerald: With Boldin out, Fitzgerlad took advantage of being the focal point of the passing game hauling in 7 balls and 2 scores.

Brandon Jacobs: Jacobs (and the rest of the Giants for that matter) ran through Seattle's D like it wasn't there Sunday. He had 136 yards and 2 scores on just 15 carries. Tough week for the Hasselbecks.

DeAngelo Williams: I wish Williams would figure out whether he sucks or not. It would make life easier on draft day. I'm pretty sure his 3 scores didn't help much owners on their bench.

Clinton Portis: Portis is kind of underrated when you think about it. He is as consistent a runner as their is in the league as he showed Sunday leading all rushers with 145 yards and his 4th td of the season.

Ronnie Brown: So Ronnie Brown is back thanks to the wing nut formation or whatever the hell its called. Seriously, how does that work? Dude went from 20 yards a game to 125 plus and touchdowns all over the place.

Michael Turner: Where do the Falcons get off being this good? Turner turned in another 100 plus with a score in Green Bay.

Kyle Orton: That's right. You read that exactly right. Kyle I'm rocking the neck beard Orton lit up the Lions to the tune of 334 and a couple of scores.

Steve Slaton: If you have running back issues, you may want to try and trade for Slaton. I think this is just the tip of the iceberg with him. He will be a fantasy monster in Houston's zone blocking scheme.

Duds:

Larry Johnson: Only LJ can bust out with 198 yards one week and then be absolutely garbage the next week. 7 carries, 2 yards. 0 fantasy points.

Ladainian Tomlinson: I'm not sure if LT is hitting the running back wall or if he is just banged up but either way he's terrible. We did not draft you # 1, LT, to have 30 something yards and 1 scores.

Chris Johnson/Lendale White: Johnson and White have been putting up points week in and week out but only had 48 yards combined against a touch Ravens D.

Brian Westbrook: I understand he scored but dude can you please stop getting hurt. He broke his freaking ribs. But the kick in nuts is not that he's hurt, it's that he'll say he wants to play and be a game time decision which will have people in front of their computers refreshing injury reports until 12:45 on Sunday.

Steady as he goes:
Tony Romo: Sure there are a lot of reasons to dislike Tony Romo. Plays for the Cowboys, dates Jessica Simpson, etc. But he is hard to dislike when he is carrying your fantasy team with 3 more td passes Sunday. Plus he's a jackass...



Should have started:
Deangelo Williams: People will rush to get him in the lineup this week and you know what will happen? Jonathan Stewart will scores 2 touchdowns while Williams get 9 carries for 37 yards.

Pick me up!
Kyle Orton: See above. The Bears have taken the training wheels off of little Kyle and he is starting to put up some numbers. I am in now way advocating starting him but he might be a nice bye week sub.

Week 5 picks

I did so bad at picking games last week, I shouldn't even be allowed to do this anymore. I went 5-7 in pick 'em! I didn't pick lines or anything like that, just...pick a winner. Couldn't do it. I even got knocked out of my survivor league because the Broncos decided to the let one of the worst teams in the last decade run all over them. I'm not bitter though. Afterall, I guess thats why we love the NFL you never know what is going to happen right? Anyway, I'll try to redeem myself a little in week 5...

Titans over Ravens: I like what the Ravens have going on with Joe Flacco, a good running game and revived defense. But McGahee is banged up and might not play and...oh yeah...they are playing the best defense in the league. Haynesworth and the boys will get to know Joe Flacco in this one. The Titans are a better team without Vince Young. Kerry Collins is the game manager the team needs.

Panthers over Chiefs: If the Chiefs win again this week I'm just shutting this site down! Probably not...but I'll shocked. Delhomme has weapons all over the place with Smith, Hackett, and an ageless Muhammhed. Jonathan Stewart has been a touchdown scoring machine. Larry Johnson has had a good 2 weeks he's not playing Atlanta or that joke of a front 7 in Denver (I'm not bitter, I swear!).

Bears over the Lions: Here is what I don't get...the Lions are a joke. They have no chance at getting anywhere near the playoffs and haven't for some time (I know they were 6-2 a couple years back but how did that turn out?) How can you be so bad for so long and still cling to Jon Kitna as your QB? Isn't it time to move on? Hey speaking of QB issues, rememeber when the Bears had them? Kyle Orton has played better than people thought and the team should be 4-0. They'll be 3-2 after Sunday.

Packers over Falcons: If Aaron Rodgers doesn't play I am going on record as taking the Falcons. Matt Flynn at QB inspires no confidence in me. What were the Packers thinking going into the season with Flynn and Brian Brohm as their backups. This is a team that is ready to compete for the Superbowl but if Rodgers is down for any exteded period of time they may not win a game. Atlanta will make this game close even with Rodgers. They have a nice young team with some upside.

Colts over Texans: The Colts should have Ugoh and Saturday back this week. That will help to give Peyton Manning some time to throw and open up some holes for Addai. There is still a ton of talent on the outside with Wayne, Gonzalez and the guy who used to be Marison Harrion. I expect Steve Slaton to have a big day for Houston. Indy's D is not very good right now. Do you know they only have 4 sacks this year?

Chargers over Dolphins: If there has been on consistent this season, its that the Chargers are having trouble covering the tight end. Rosario from Carolina, Scheffter from Denver, Zack Miller from Oakland...all had big days. Are you listening to me Anthony Fassano and David Martin. Even if the Dolphins can move the ball though, I don't see them being able to stop SD on the outside. I think Chambers and Jackson will be too much for the Phins. Look for Philip Rivers to have a nice day.

Giants over Seahwaks: Seattle should be getting Bobby Engram back this week but he needs time to get back in the swing of things. I believe Seattle will make a run as they get healthier but it won't start this week. Even with Plaxico out the Giants will be too much. NY has quickly evolved from an underachieving team to the leagues elite. Amazing what a championship win over an 18-0 team will do. Justin Tuck is a beast by the way.

Eagles over Redskins: Are the Skins playing well or what? It looks like the light finally went on for Jason Campbell and Portis is as a consistent running back as there is. I just think Philly will to much offensively whether Westbrook plays or not. Jason and Taylor and Shawn Springs are both out for this one.

Broncos over Bucs: The Denver defense is atrocius. Their front 7 can't stop anyone right now (Really I'm not bitter). I think that Cutler and the boys will score some points but the Bucs D should be able to make enough plays to keep them in the game. But can I really going with Brian Griese on the road? Listen, TB is a really good bad team. I don't understand how they keep winning. The D is good. Not great, good. I don't see any playmakers on their offense outside of Joey Galloway who is banged up. Maybe Earnest Graham...I'm sure TB will find a way to pull this one out to make me look stupid but I'm going with Denver and joke of a defense at home.

Bills over Cards: I have a man-crush on the Bills. I love that team. I really pulled for them last season when they had 57 players on IR and still almost made the playoffs. It shows what a good, underrated coach Dick Jauron is. This season, they are healthy and scrappy. Trent Edwards is the real deal. Marshwan Lynch, who loves Buffalo by the way (see video) is a stud. The defense is stout. I have seen a lot of people pick the Cards here but I don't see it. Look for the Bills to be 5-0 going into their showdown with SD in 2 weeks. By the way, did you see Anquan Boldin broke his sinus? I didn't even think that was possible.



Cowboys over Bengals: Lets see if Wade Phillips and Jason Garrett decide to give the ball to Barber or Felix Jones this week. The Cowboy game plan last week was a joke. How can Barber only get 8 carries and Jones not even touch the ball? Doesn't matter this week, they could play Chad Hutchinson and runningback and still beat Cincy.

49ers over Pats: Yeah I said it. The Niners are going to beat the Pats...I think. Listen, I believe Mike Nolan is the worst head coach in the league (now that Linehan got fired). I know that is harsh coming from a 9er guy but I have seen the same tired act from his teams for 4 years. The defense was shredded last week against NO. Looked a lot like the last 3 years to me. I'm picking them this week though. I just think the Pats are in worse shape than people think and the Niners offense can put up some points (when JTO is upright). Mark my words though, if the Niners don't win this weekend it's going to get ugly quick in San Fran. Their schedule gets tough with games coming up against the Eagles, Giants and Seahwaks.

Jags over Steelers: Both teams are beat up. This should be a very physical game. I just don't see Pitt coming out on top here. They played a tough Monday night game and are down to their 3rd string RB. The Jags need to come to their senses and start featuring Jones-Drew a little more.

Saints over Vikings: For all the talk about the Vikes D, they only have 7 sacks this season. Jared Allen better get after Drew Brees if they have any shot this week. Brees is without Colston and Shockey and still lights up defenses. He really is a terrific QB.

Mr. Monday Night Award

I got nothin'. Not a thing. Nobody really did much of anything to even warrant giving out an award this week but I'll do it anyway. I'm going with Jeff Reed. Yep. A kicker. He got most owners 13 points this week with 2 40 plus yards, a 30 something and 2 extra points. Congratualtions Jeff.
I guess I can't complain too much...it was a good game. It was an old school black and blue defensive game. I felt like the score should have been like 13-10 rather than 23-20. The Ravens are on to something with Joe Flacco. He looks like he will be a player. As far as the Steelers, I thought they were going to be fantastic after they killed the Texans in week 1 but not anymore. They have major offensive line issues. No way Big Ben will survive the season if they don't tighten it up. They still should get enough wins to take the AFC North title though.

Remembering Week 4

tuds

How about all of the Jets: Specifically Favre, Coles and Cotchery. The handcuffs were finally taken off this offense in its 56 point explosion. Favre had an all time fantasy day with 6 td's (3 to Coles and 2 to Cotchery). I still think they will be a Jeckyl and Hyde show all year, but if you had any of those guys in your lineup you hit it big.

Larry Johnson: LJ is back. 198 yards and 2 scores had owners thinking of the good old days of 2005/2006. Johnson is getting into a groove and is a must play every week.

L. Tomlinson: L.T scored twice and had 106 yards on the ground. He looks like he is starting to get healthy again which is good for the Chargers and fantasy owners.

Matt Schaub: Schaub finally stopped sucking and had a big day Sunday. He threw for 307 yards and 3 scores. Now only is Houston can actually win a game.

Greg Jennings: Jennings has played well this season but was frustrating his owners with 0 scores. Everyone kissed and made up after his 2 td performance.

Tony Romo: He may make some stupid throws but he can really light it up. 3 more touchdowns passes reminded you of why you used a late first/early second on Tony.

Adrian Peterson: Another player who has performed well but lacked touchdowns to show for it. That's what happens when your QB is garbage. Ferrotte helps open things up and AP scored twice Sunday.

Steven Jackson: It's about time dude! Have another decent week and I'll write about how you actually did.

Duds:

Andre Johnson/Braylon Edwards/Chad Johnson: For 2nd/3rd round picks you three should be ashamed of yourselves. I don't even care if Edwards and CJ scored, neither broke 30 yards.

Marion Barber: I'm not sure what the Cowboys were thinking only giving him the ball 8 times. Barber should be complaining, not TO.

J.T. O'Sullivan:...And the Niners drop back to earth. 2 picks and a fumble. Thanks for nothing JT.

Derek Anderson: It's official Derek, you suck.

Steady as he goes:
Drew Brees: Another 350 plus yard day and 3 touchdowns. Just another day at the office for Drew.

Should have started:
How about Jake Delhomme...294 and 2 scores. He is a decent play with Steve Smith back.

Pick me up!
Issac Bruce: Have you noticed he is quietly putting up solid numbers in San Fran? Also props to Kyle Orton who threw 3 td's against a tough Philly D.

Drop me like I'm hot!
Vernon Davis: He looks like he could be in the doghouse in San Fran. He has 2 catches in his last 3 games.

Westbrook questionable

As you probably already know, Brian Westbrook is questionable tonight with a high ankle sprain. What does this mean? Well for the Eagles it means they may be without arguably the best all around back in the league right now. For us fantasy addicts...er...um...players...it means we have to commit to playing him and risking very little or no points at all or not playing him and risking him scoring 3 td's on our bench. I own Westbrook in a league and here is what I did: I picked up Buckhalter and have him as my starter. If I turn on NBC's awful highlight show (seriously, how much do you miss NFL Primetime?) and they say Westbrook will play, I will run to my computer and put him in the starting lineup (while my wife belittles me for being a dork). For those of you who do not have Buckhalter, I would go ahead and play my backup. It's too much of a risk to play Westbrook and get 0 points.

On a side note, can this season be any stranger. So many injuries, so many players not performing, weird things like suspensions, infected sacs, and torn ACL's. It's been a disappointing season so far for a lot of fantasy players. Good fantasy players with solid draft strategies are falling victim to these situations that are out of any players control. I don't know what to make of it...maybe the bass is just taking away from the vocal...

Week 4 picks

Bengals over Browns: Someone has to win! I feel like the Bengals have some momentum after playing the Giants tough last week. The Browns look like a completely different team from 2007. Just make the switch to Quinn already Romeo.

Vikings over Titans: Low scoring defensive struggle will go the Vikes way. The Titan play the game right and the defense has been outstanding (29 points against this season). I just feel like the Vikings need the game.

Broncos over Chiefs: The Chiefs are bad. I'm not going against Cutler right now. He has torched Kansas City in the past and he may be playing at the highest level of any QB in the league right now.

49ers over Saints. With Colsten and Shockey out, Brees is running low on weapons. The Niners are playing with confidence right now and should be able to out score the Saints. This time last season, did you ever think you would hear that statement.

Jets over Cards: I'll take homefield here. Even with Favre gimpy, I don't trust the Cards on the road...yet. I can see both QB's throwing for 300 and the Jets scoring twenty something to egde the Cards twenty somthing.

Packers over Bucs: The Bucs could pull this one out. I never feel like they have a lot of talent but they always seem to be decent. I'll go with the Pack because I think they can score on the Buc's D and they should be mad after a butt kicking by the Cowboys.

Panthers over Falcons: The Falcons are much, much better than expected but Delhomme and Smith will be too much. Matt Ryan will make some mistakes this week with Julius Peppers in his face all day.

Jags over Texans: Texans just look bad right now. Even though they have the Jag's number (Texans have won 3 out of the last 4) Jcksonville will squeak by in this one. Sage Rosenfel may replace Shaub at some point in this game. What a waste of 50 million Shaub looks like.

Chargers over Raiders: SD should really be 3-0. They'll be 2-2 after beating a dysfunctional Raiders team. LT is getting healthier and Philip Rivers is playing at a high level. The Raiders just can't keep up with them.

Cowboys over Redskins: The Redskins are getting better but I'd take the Cowboys over anyone right now. Their offense is just too good. I think this game will be close though.

Eagles over Bears: The Eagles are a legit superbowl contender. Will Westbrook be effective? The Bears fall to a tough to take 1-3.

Steelers over Ravens: Pitt will rebound after getting abused by the Philly D. Flacco will have trouble against that Steeler D. I just don't think Baltimore can keep winning with that offense.

Parker Hurt, Burress suspended

I can't remember a season where so many players have been hurt and/or suspended. From Tom Brady to Marques Colston to Steve Smith to the Colt's line injuries (which affect Peyton Manning) 2008 has been a year like none other. Anyway, add Willie Parker and Plaxico Burress to the list. Parker will miss the game against the Ravens this week. He has a sprained knee. Burress on the other hand is healthy as can be but was suspended for 2 weeks today by the Giants for no showing and not giving a reason. He will effectively miss 1 game because the Giants have a bye this week.

Fantasy Impact: Mendenhall is good play in Parker's absense. He should be the feature back this week and finally get a chance to show what he can do. What does this mean for the long run? Well is he plays well, he should see more touches. That will hurt Parker's value. If he plays poorly and continues to have the fumbling problems he did in the preseason, Parker will resume getting almost all of the touches.

As for Burress, owners lose him 2 weeks in a row because of the bye. If you need to pick someone up, Amani Toomer should get a lot of looks in his absence. Wide Receiver is a thin position. You might just have to play someone on a hunch and hope they have a nice game or two. For example, Antonio Bryant had over 120 yards for Tampa Bay this past weekend. He might be someone to take a flyer on.

Mr. Monday Night Week 3

The award goes to Philip Rivers who is really picking up the slack with L.T. banged up. He put up 3 more scores Monday against the Jets raising his season total to 9. Rivers is a hard player to root for with his childlike antics on the field but he is really coming into his own. For all of the 1st round QB busts we see, 2004 is looking like a terrific class. Manning and Roethisberger have won superbowls and Rivers may not be far behind. Compare that with the class of 2006 when the big 3 were Leinart, Young and Cutler. Cutler looks to be the next great NFL QB but Leinart and Young may both be on their way to bust status.

I know this is going off on a tangent considering this is only the Mr. Monday Night Post, but it's good to see the next crop of NFL QB's starting to step up. There are a lot of mediocre to bad QB's in the league which is amazing to me considering that it is the most glamorous position in sports (see Brady, Tom). You would think that it would be easy to find a capable QB. It's not...not even close. Roethisberger, Cutler, Rivers, Eli, Aaron Rodgers, Drew Brees, Tony Romo and Trent Edwards (yep. I said Trent Edwards) will continue to carry the league as Brady, Peyton, Favre, Hasselback and McNabb get older. I even like what I have seen from Matt Ryan so far. I'm hopeful for the future of the position. I hope the Jason Campbell's continue to improve, I hope the Jake Delhomme's continue to be steady and underrated, and I hope the Kurt Warner's (and maybe J.T. O'Sullivan's) continue to come from no where. Nothing is worse for the NFL and their franchises than bad QB play, just ask a Kansas City Chiefs fan right now.

Remembering Week 3

Studs:

Drew Brees: While I wanted to throw my remote through the TV every time the Saints ran in a touchdown, Brees still ended up with a monster day because of 421 yards passing. He only thew for 1 touchdowns but 421 will make up the points.

Marion Barber: I told everyone who would listen that he was a top 8 pick this season. 142 yards on the ground and a score...just another week for Marion. Just hope that he can hold up. He takes a pounding because of his straight up, make the tackler pay running style.

Frank Gore: It's fun to watch Gore when there aren't 8 men in thr box. 130 yards rushing and a score.

Michael Turner: I really didn't expect Turner to play this well. He carried his owners on Sunday with 3 touchdowns.

Larry Johnson: I've been all over LJ this season so I need to give him props for his 121 yards and a touchdown.

Ronnie Brown: 5 total touchdowns is a monster week for anyone. Now only if he wasn't on most owners benches...

Reggie Bush: It's about time Reggie! 148 total yards and 2 scores.

Brandon Marshall: Cutler to Marshall looks like the new Manning to Harrison. 150 and a score in week 3. Now if he can just stay out of trouble.

TJ Houshmazadeh: The Bengals offense showed some signs of life on Sunday. TJ jad 12 catches for 146 and a score.

Duds:
Brian Westbrook: Not his fault that he got injured. He may be the best all around back in the game today. But 0 points is 0 points.

Peyton Manning: Again, probably not all his fault but owners who took Peyton in the 1-2 round range want more than 1 td and 2 picks.

Rams Offense: Rams are a mess. Even Steven Jackson is looking like a shaky play. I would still ride Holt and Jackson due to their track records but Bulger is nothing more than a bench player right now.

Roy Williams/Calvin Johnson: Combined for 6 catches and 58 yards against the Niners. I'm thinking they wish they still had Martz calling their plays.

Andre Johnson: Houston is digressing. 2 catches for 29 yards for their top target.

Ben Roethisberger: Philly was all over Big Ben to the tune of 8 sacks. They held the Steeler's QB to 131 yards and 0 scores. The Steeler have 1 touchdwon in the last 2 games.

Derek Anderson: See below.

Steady as he goes:
Marshawn Lynch: Lynch has scored in each of the first 3 games. 2 more touchdowns on Sunday gave him 4 for the year.

Should have started:
Steve Slaton: He looks to have a hold on the # 1 back slot with 116 yards and a touchdown.

Pick me up!
JT O'Sullivan: He looks poised and comfortable in Martz's offesnse. 2 touchdowns on Sunday.

Drop me like I'm hot!
Derek Anderson: Everyone saw this coming. Anderson has been horrible this season. after 3 picks on Sunday he has 5 for the year. He has thrown for 405 yards and 2 touchdowns. Thats down right bad. If the Browns don't go to Brady Quinn this weekend they are dumber than I thought.

Tomlinson, Peterson questionable

While he did return to practice on Friday, Adrian Peterson will be questionable this week against the Panthers with because of an injured hamstring. Brad Childress said that he would wait until before the game to determine whether or not the Vikings star back will go. If he can't play, Chester Taylor will get the start at tailback.

Fantasy Impact: Peterson is a beast but injury concerns make him a crap shoot pick in my opinion. Hopefully if you did take Peterson, you handcuffed him with Taylor. If not, it is a good week to play your 3rd back if he is a decent option (i.e Chris Johnson, Jonathan Stewart).

Ladainian Tomlinson also returned to practice Friday but in a limited role. Tomlinson said that his jammed toe does feel better and he thinks that he could be close to 100% by week 4. He will probably play against the Jets Monday night but it could be a similar situation to last week where Darren Sproles saw significant touches.

Fantasy Impact: Can you believe the amount of injuries this season? Could L.T. be starting the downside of his career? He will be 30 next season. I guess thats when your toes start to hurt. Tomlinson is in a little different situation than Peterson in that he should play, but how much and how effective he will be remains to be seen. He did virtually nothing last week against Denver. If you play L.T., he might get you a score and 50 yards but he could also do next to nothing again. For me, if I have a good # 3 back with a favorable matchup (again a Chris Johnson), I would play him this week and let L.T. ride the pine until week 4...because his toe hurts.


So your toe hurts L.T. Tell that to the millions of players who drafted you # 1! You're getting real close to landscaping duty! (see around 1:23 of this video)

Mr. Monday Night

What a game last night. By the end of the 3rd quarter, I kept telling myself that I would go to bed after the next drive. Didn't happen. That was 2 NFC heavyweights throwing bombs at each other. Desean Jackon could be special (if he learns how to cross the goaline before throwing the ball away). Anyway, while I could go with Westbrook (3 td's) or T.O. (2 td's) as my Mr. Monday night, I'm not. Tony Romo is a guy who carries fantasy teams. 312 yards and 3 scores gets the award. Plus, did you hear he pulled over to help a couple with a flat tire this past week?

Remembering Week 2

Studs

Aaron Rodgers
: You know Aaron had a rough day on draft day in 2005 and quite the stressful offseason. I have to say I'm rooting for him. What he has done so far this season has been tremendous. He had a huge day with 328 yards through the air and 3 td's.

Darren McFadden: McFadden looks like the real deal in Oakland with 164 yards rushing and a score.

Clinton Portis: Jim Zorn said that he was going to give the ball to Portis early and often. The centerpiece of the Redskin offense scored twice to go with his 96 yards on the ground.

Brandon Marshall: Wow. 18 catched, 166 yards and a score. That is big time production, especially in a PPR league.

Jay Cutler: Like Aaron Rodgers, Cutler is becoming an elite NFL QB. He showed guts and moxy all day Sunday (and got some help from the guys in the striped). 4td's, 350 yards and Marshall's back.

Darren Sproles: Sproles went off Sunday with 308 total yards and 2 scores. Who needs LT? Well, besides everyone who drafted him #1!

Anquan Boldin: Boldin showed he is worth that new contract he wants with 140 and 3 scores.

Philp Rivers: Anyone notice that Rivers has 6 touchdown passes this season? He had 3 yesterday.

Kurt Warner: Warner continues to put up monster numbers in Zona with 341 yards and 3 scores.

Duds

Carson Palmer: I had Palmer as the 5th rated QB coming into this season. I can't believe how bad he has been this season. Going back to last year, he has 5tds in his last 7 games. He has 0 touchdowns this year. 0! I don't know who your backups are but you may want to consider playing them...at least until Palmer wakes up.

Larry Johnson: Larry Johnson looked good as a # 2 back on paper but he has been a complete waste in the first 2 weeks. 12 carries for 22 yards. Thanks for the 1 point this week Larry.

Ladanian Tomlinsion: Thanks LT for gaining 40 total yards. Yeah, I know, your toe hurts. Whatever dude.

Ronnie Brown/Ricky Williams: I knew Maimi would be bad, I didn't think they would be this bad. Ronnie, Ricky, Nate, Mike, Shaun, and Wan combined 22 carries 53 yards and score. I'm stashing them away in my bench and hoping they can get back to respectibility.

Jet's Offense
: Favre looked lost a times, Cothery caught all of 1 pass, and Thomas Jones looked like the 2007 version with 70 something worthless yards and no scores. The Jets might be a Jeckyl and Hyde team this year.

David Gerrard
: A lot of people liked Gerrard as a sleeper. He has offensive line issues now due to the injuries and really no one to throw to. His stats have shown that (165 yards and a pick)

Steady as he goes
Adrian Peterson
: I know he is only in his second season but when he is healthy you can count on massive production. He had 160 yards on the ground yesterday. Imagine if Minnesota ever gets a decent QB?

Pick me up!
Tony Scheffler
: Scheffler had 6 grabs for 64 yards and 2 scores. With Cutler becoming a stud, Scheffler is a sure fire start.

Drop me like I'm Hot!
Any Bengal
: Well at least drop them to your bench. I'd still play Houshmanzadeh, but Palmer, Perry, and Chad Johnson (bad shoulder) should all be regulated to bench duty until they prove other wise (if you have other options).

Should have started...
Julius Jones
: 127 yards and a touchdown were wasted yesterday on my bench...how about yours?

Jonathan Stewart: I really think he is going to have a big year. 2 td's yesterday are only a sign of things to come.

Ravens/Texans game postponed to Nov. 9th

Because of Hurricane Ike, the NFL has postponed the Ravens/Texans game to November 9th. The game will be held during the Ravens bye week. The Texans' home game against the Cincinnati Bengals (that was originally scheduled for Nov. 9) will be moved to Oct. 26, which was the bye week for both of those teams. Got all that?

Fantasy Impact: It's a good thing most of the players on the Texans and Ravens suck or it could be an issue this week. However, some of you will need to replace Andre Johnson and Todd Heap.

Too bad this game was in Houston, if it was in Baltimore, Maryland we would'nt have this problem...we all know how Maryland rolls...

Vince Young's done lost his mind

So apparently Monday night, Vince Young had a little incident. I heard on Chris Mortensen's radio show last night that the Titans called police to help find Vince Young since he was talking about suicide to his therapist before driving away from his home with a gun. Both Fisher and Young have called reports of the incident overblown. The Titan's head of security notified police around 7:30 p.m. that he had a player "going off." Vince Young's manager, or agent, or whatever, told police he had tried to follow Young when the quarterback left his home but he couldn't keep up with Young because he was driving over 90MPH!

Fantasy Impact: First of all, if you drafted Vince Young, maybe you should see a therapist. He has no fantasy impact. I don't want to make light of anyone with mental/depression problems, but personally, I don't have any issues that a few million dollars can't fix. So you got booed and hurt your knee Vince, I'm sure going home to your mansion probably helps. Suck it up dude, there are worse things in life than sucking in the NFL.

There are worse issues in life Vince. To me, yours ranks up there with this one...